The Dark Clouds will be celebrating the success of Minnesota United’s inaugural MLS campaign with their 14th annual End of the Year Awards and Charity Auction, October 24th.

The event will be held at Lake Monster Brewing from 6:30-9:00. Just as in the past, the event will also include a silent auction, which begins promptly at 7:00pm and closes at 9:00pm, so make certain you’re there before 7:00 to have some liquid courage for bidding. The Charity Auction proceeds will benefit The Sanneh Foundation, a fantastic partner of the Dark Clouds.

Dark Clouds will receive $4 IPAs and Lagers, and Tiki Tim’s food truck will be on-site to ensure you don’t go hungry.

As in previous years the Charity Auction will be comprised of items donated by Dark Clouds members, of varying worth, as well as items contributed from our partners and and players from Minnesota United. If you’re interested in donating an item please email:, we’ll be happy to post about it and your organization.

Detail At A Glance
What: The Dark Clouds End Of Year Awards and Charity Auction
 Tuesday, October 24, 2017 | 7:00pm (Auction ends at 9:00)
Where: Lake Monster Brewing | 550 Vandalia St #160, St Paul, MN 55114

The event will be where End of the Year Awards are given out. This is the 14th year the Dark Clouds have presented End of the Year Awards. A full list of previous End of the Year Award winners can be found below

Player of the Year:
2004 – Dustin Branan
2005- Freddy Juarez
2006 – Matt Schmidt
2007 – Nic Platter
2008 – Nic Platter
2009 – Nic Platter
2010 – Andres Arango
2011 – Kyle Altman
2012 – Matt VanOekel
2013 – Pablo Campos
2014 – Miguel Ibarra
2015 – Justin Davis
2016 – Christian Ramirez

Newcomer of the Year:
2004 – Jay Alberts
2005 – Nate Knox
2006 – Alfredo Esteves
2007 – Brian Farber
2008 – Ricardo Sanchez
2009- Lawrence Olum
2010 – Simone Bracalello
2011- Justin Davis
2012 – Miguel Ibarra
2013 – Calum Mallace
2014 – Christian Ramirez
2015 – Sammy Ndjock
2016 – Jeb Brovsky

Buzz Lagos Award (Lifetime Achievement Award)
2005 – Buzz Lagos (Namesake, original coach and leader of the Minnesota Thunder)
2007 – Liz Schorn (Thunder team trainer and photographer)
2009 – Claude Duran (Thunder team mascot, ‘Thor’)
2010- Manny Lagos (Original player, former head coach and current Sporting Director)
2012 – Chris Lidholm (Broadcasting voice of Minnesota Thunder, Stars and United)
2013 – Kevin Friedland (Player who was integral to keeping the team alive through lean years)
2014 – Dan Barnes (Owner of original USL Discussion Boards and fan community)
2016 – Angie Blaker (Team Operations)

Jackass of the Year: (A Dark Cloud cannot win this award more than once)
2005 – Keith Kramer
2007 – Kevin Joseph
2008 – Neal Logan
2009 – Tim “SuperRookie” Hayes
2010 – Scott Kerssen
2011 – Anthony de Sam Lazaro
2012 – David Smith
2013 – Ben Pfutzenreuter (Arts and Crafts); Wes Burdine (Discourse); Tim Alexander
2014 – Nachiket Karnik and Doreen Hartzell
2015 – Abe Opoti
2016 – Rich Harrison, Teresa Peterson, Sam Solberg

2008 – Kevin Friedland – Humanitarian/Man of the Year

Iron Skillet Award: (Awarded to those who fix or improve something in our organization)
2014 – Brandon Maurisak
2015 – Jeff Rueter & Jake Rueter
2016 – Nachiket Karnik (Nach)


Leave a Reply